“I accept chaos. I don’t know whether it accepts me.”

cate

So here I finally am, updating the very neglected (namely by me) noise posse blog. So, after having being deeply engulfed in the very morbid and dark subject of genocide for my (finally!) ending degree, I have stepped out of Wagner and am able to enlighten your young souls with some wonderful pieces of music.

While aimlessly rummaging through YouTube, I came across some footage from a new film by Todd Haynes, I’m Not There, which tells the story of Bob Dylan’s life through six different actors. Each actor embodies a different aspect of the musician’s life. The video I saw showed Cate Blanchet’s performance in which she bares a scarily uncanny resemblance to good old Bobby D:

Among others are Christian Bale (yum), Richard Geere (double yum), and Heath Ledger (mmmm).

Naturally, I checked out the Soundtrack, which is one of the most amazing compilations created thus far. Todd Haynes creatively put together covers of the best Dylan songs, with contributions from artists like Anthony & the Johnsons, Cat Power, Los Lobos, The Black Keys, and Yo La Tengo.

The rendition by Cat Power of “Stuck Inside of Mobile with the Memphis Blues Again,” Glen Hansard’s & Markéta Irglová’s cover of “You Ain’t Goin’ Nowhere,” and Sufjan Stevens’ “Ring Them Bells” have basically hit it with my ipod forwards, backwards, sideways and upside-down. Can’t say I’m not jealous.

Glen Hansard & Markéta Irglová – You Ain’t Goin’ Nowhere

Cat Power – Stuck Inside of Mobile With the Memphis Blues Again

Charlotte Gainsbourg & Calexico – Just Like a Woman

Responder

